Sleeping pads
Product 2019
Woman, Man

Sea to Summit Ether light XT Insulated

We tested this inflatable mattress in a tent, in early spring weather conditions. First observation: Ether light XT is ultra-light and compact, very convenient for slipping into your backpack.

It comes with an ingenious inflating system built into the storage bag. In fact the storage bag serves as an inflation system! Surprising at first, it is difficult to understand how it works, but once we sussed it out it is very effective. In two minutes, and without being out of breath, the mattress was fully inflated. A little trick: don’t try to blow up the inflation bag with your mouth, you will exhaust yourself, and it’s practically impossible anyway.

Just blow into it to allow it to gain volume and “passively” fill with air. Then when you roll the bag that is connected by a valve to the mattress, the compression does the rest and pushes the compressed air into the mattress. Perfect! The dual valve has a check valve for inflation and a large opening for fast deflation.

The mattress is 10cm thick with an Air Sprung Cell technology construction base, in other words, meshed partitions, which means when they are inflated they are independent of each other. This results in your body weight being equally distributed and perfectly stabilized, and so the Sea to Summit Ether light XT Insulated is ultra-comfortable.

You can move, twist and turn, and you don’t slip on the mattress, the system keeps you in position. A special nylon treatment prevents the unpleasant squeaky plastic noise when moving, and perfectly insulates you away from the cold ground: an important point for this type of product as you can use it in difficult conditions, camping at high altitude for example.

A built-in system makes it possible to use the brand’s compatible pillow that is easily attached, nice so you don’t keep looking for it in the night. The mattress, with its built-in storage bag and pump, plus a repair kit with six self-adhesive patches and a spare non-return valve, is on sale for €179. A very high price, but it can be justified by its undeniable qualities.

This is a surprisingly comfortable mattress, with a very clever inflation system. But you need to have the use for it at such a high investment. Especially as like all inflatable mattresses, they have a certain fragility (it should be seen with a long-term test). It should be used in tents rather than bivouac where the ground could increase the risk of puncturing it. And, if you tear the inflating bag you end up having to inflate the mattress in the old fashioned way, with your the mouth, and that is long, very long …

Apart from the price, which makes it a high-tech luxury product, the Sea to Summit Ether XT Insulated light is a top-quality mattress, ultra-light, with really exceptional comfort. It is very difficult after using it, to camp on a “vulgar” standard camping mat.

 

"Apart from the price, which makes it a high-tech luxury product, the Sea to Summit Ether XT Insulated light is a top-quality mattress, ultra-light, with really exceptional comfort. It is very difficult after using it, to camp on a "vulgar" standard camping mat."

Rating

  • 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
  • Inflating system
    10
  • Durability
    8
  • Comfort
    10

Price : 189

Weight

425

Overall Rating

9.33

LONG TERM TEST

January 2020

We used this equipment over a long period of time
These are our thoughts after intensive use:

DO YOU HAVE QUESTIONS ABOUT THIS PRODUCT ?

Receive your answers by mail. Do you have a particular question concerning the design, use, durability or other about a tested product? We will answer your question personally.

CONTACT US

MrMs

* Fill all required fields.

Conformément à la loi Informatique et Libertés nº78-017 du 6 janvier 1978, vous disposez d’un droit d'accès, d'opposition et de rectification à toute communication des informations personnelles vous concernant en adressant un mail à : contact@test4outside.com

WRITE A REVIEW ON THIS PRODUCT

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    • VIA FERRATA
    • CANYONING
    • SKI
    • SNOWSHOES
    • TOURING SKIS
    • TRAIL RUNNING
    • MOUNTAINEERING
    • CLIMBING
    • MOUNTAIN BIKE
    • ROAD BIKE
    • TRIATHLON
    • TREKKING
UP

Matelas
Produit 2019
Homme, Femme

Sea to Summit Ether light XT Insulated

Nous avons testé ce modèle de matelas gonflable sous tente, et des conditions météo de début de printemps. Première constatation : le Ether light XT est ultra léger et compact, très pratique pour le faufiler dans le sac à dos.

Ensuite, il est livré avec un ingénieux système de gonflage incorporé au sac de rangement. En fait le sac de rangement sert de système de gonflage… Surprenant au début, on a du mal à comprendre comme ça marche, mais dès qu’on a pris le coup, c’est très efficace. En deux minutes, et sans finir au bord de l’asphyxie, on a gonflé le matelas à bloc. Petit truc : ne pas essayer de gonfler à la bouche le sac de gonflage, vous allez vous exténuer, quasi impossible d’ailleurs.

 

Il suffit juste de souffler dedans pour lui permettre de prendre du volume et se remplir « passivement » d’air. Ensuite quand on roule le sac qui est connecté par une valve au matelas, la compression fait le reste et insuffle l’air comprimé dans le matelas. Parfait ! La valve double est dotée d’un clapet anti-retour pour le gonflage et d’une grande ouverture pour un dégonflage express.

 

Côté confort, le matelas fait dix centimètres d’épaisseur. Sa construction est basée sur la technologie Air Sprung Cell, c’est-à-dire des cloisons maillées, qui une fois gonflées sont indépendantes les unes des autres. Résultat, le poids du corps se répartit et se stabilise parfaitement, le Sea to Summit Ether light XT Insulatedest ultra confortable.

 

On peut bouger, se tourner, on ne glisse pas du matelas, le système fixe la position. Un traitement spécial du nylon empêche le désagréable bruit du plastique quand on bouge, et isole parfaitement du froid du sol : une grande qualité pour ce type de produit qui permet une utilisation en conditions difficiles, camp en altitude par exemple.

 

Un système incorporé permet d’utiliser un oreiller compatible de la marque que l’on fixe facilement, sympa pour éviter de lui courir après dans la nuit. Le matelas, avec son sac de rangement et pompe intégrée, plus un kit réparation de six patches autocollants et un clapet anti-retour de rechange, est vendu à 179 €. Un prix très élevé mais qui peut être justifié par ses qualités qui sont indéniables.

 

C’est un matelas d’un confort bluffant, et son système de gonflage est très judicieux, malin comme tout. Mais il faut en avoir vraiment l’utilité pour investir une telle somme. D’autant que comme tous les matelas gonflables, même si apparemment la marque (il faudrait voir avec un test sur le long terme) a utilisé des produits solides, ils restent fragiles dans l’absolu, sensibles… Un matelas à utiliser donc plutôt en campement, sous tente, en milieu « stable » plus qu’en bivouac où le risque de crevaison est beaucoup plus grand. Et si l’on déchire le sac de gonflage on se retrouve à gonfler le matelas à l’ancienne, à la bouche, et là c’est long, très long…

 

En dehors du prix, qui en fait un produit high tech de luxe, le Sea to Summit Ether light XT Insulated est un matelas d’une très grande qualité, ultra léger, au confort vraiment exceptionnel. On a du mal, après l’avoir utilisé, à bivouaquer sur un « vulgaire » tapis de sol.

 

 

Le poids : 425 g en taille regular + 54 g pour le sac pompe.

"Le Sea to Summit Ether light XT Insulated est un matelas d’une très grande qualité, ultra léger, au confort vraiment exceptionnel. On a du mal, après l’avoir utilisé, à bivouaquer sur un « vulgaire » tapis de sol."

Notes

  • 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
  • Système gonflage
    10
  • Solidité
    8
  • Confort
    10

Prix : 189

Poids

425

Note globale

9.33

TEST LONGUE DUREE

octobre 2019

Nous avons utilisé cet équipement sur une longue période de temps
Voici ce que nous pensons après une utilisation intensive :

AVEZ-VOUS DES QUESTIONS SUR CE PRODUIT ?

Recevez vos réponses par email. Avez-vous une question particulière concernant la conception, l'utilisation, la durabilité ou autre sur un produit testé? Nous répondrons à votre question personnellement.

DONNEZ VOTRE AVIS SUR CE PRODUIT

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

    • TREKKING
    • VIA FERRATA
    • CANYONING
    • SKI
    • RAQUETTES
    • SKI RANDONNÉE
    • TRAIL RUNNING
    • ALPINISME
    • ESCALADE
    • VTT
    • VÉLO ROUTE
    • TRIATHLON
UP