Watches
Product 2019
Woman, Man

SUUNTO9 Baro

We were disappointed with the Suunto Spartan Ultra, it came out too early; a product that suffered from unfinished development with too many bugs. We even published a test review with no holds barred (https://www.test4outside.com/en/produit/suunto-spartan-ultra/).Since, to be honest, through all their updates Suunto has largely corrected the crash and burn, and the watch now runs smoothly. Subsequently we were very excited about testing the Suunto S9 Baro.

 

 

This watch is undeniably a very beautiful object with a successful design, the combination between a classic touch and sportiness. You still have the imposing size of a Suunto Spartan Ultra and the weight on the scales is almost identical: 80g for the S9 Baro and 77g for the Spartan Ultra (without the cardio belt). Both aesthetically and also when you delve into the menus, you have the feeling that you’re wearing a version of the Spartan. The difference is happening on the inside, this is what we will define throughout this field test.

 

 

DIFFERENT LEVELS OF PERFORMANCE

It is very difficult to test this kind of product because, beyond the complexity of the various menus and multiple customizations, we must consider the entire public spectrum that are targeted by Suunto. The expert or regular athlete doesn’t like the step counter, daily calorie count or the daily heart rate… all these data are considered as gadgets that are not used for any performance analysis. On the other hand, some people, expect that these should be an integral part of a watch that costs nearly 600 euros. It’s out of the question that this info should be absent when the slightest connected bracelet provides them. It is also fashionable as Apple with its Watch provides it. In order to judge the Suunto 9 Baro, we must look at different cases. Each sports person will find what he/she needs for his/her sport or level.  

 

 

 

FLUID ERGONOMICS

Suunto made some choices, mixing quite sophisticated functions with basic information. The menus are clear, well prioritized and when you have managed the little gymnastics concerning the three buttons and the touch screen, just complete the skills by learning more you just tap the screen once to bring up another page. So with this idea, we tried finding the recovery time after several training sessions. Press three times on the bottom button, a tap on the screen and this data appears. It’s simple… when you know how to use it. The online instruction booklet or downloadable pdf is pretty basic.

 

The purpose of this test is not to re-transcribe the Suunto 9 Baro’s specifications that are found on the brand’s site, which have been widely used on multiple blogs. What interests us is its effectiveness in use, especially in training and for outdoor practices in general.

 

 

INTELLIGENT BATTERY MANAGEMENT

The big improvement concerns the battery management and the new energy-saving Sony GPS chip compared to the one in a Suunto Spartan. It’s the same battery as the Spartan Sport (smaller than the Spartan Ultra) and yet, thanks to this new chip, the energy consumption management has been greatly optimized.

 

Suunto announces a 25-hour autonomy in Performance mode and 120-hours in Ultra. Therefore on each exercise you can choose the mode type to adjust the GPS strength (and therefore the duration of the battery). During the exercise the watch indicates the level of battery charge and warns you if it needs charging. By the way, the charging icon is on the second screen, just click once on the middle button.

 

 

Despite this technology, we had the impression that the Suunto 9 Baro needed charging  often, a little too often… Searching a bit, asking the company, we were given the following explanation: that if the daily heart rate is activated, the energy consumption increases … decreasing its autonomy, CQFD. The LEDs used for measuring the HR are energy-consuming. So, our advice: you need to zap and disable this function if you want to optimize the durability of the watch. Another advantage to this manipulation, we cut the beam of green light that emanates from below the watch, which is a bit of a pain in the middle of the night when the watch is placed on the bedside table, or in the cinema when a green glow sneaks out from your wrist…

But back to the performance of the battery. In action, and especially over long distances, the gain is (very) appreciable. You are certain to record your exercise and/or be able to use the watch for orientation.

 

GPS ACCURACY

In terms of GPS accuracy, and therefore tracking accuracy (which results in the measured distance), you must fine-tune it according to the sport. In running and trail running, the FusedTrack algorithm, which combines GPS and motion sensor data, is automatically activated. It gives precise tracking. Cycling, it’s different, especially compared to the Spartan, which is more precise because it takes more GPS captures. To be clearer: the Suunto 9 only exploits the FusedTrack data in trail and running “Endurance” or “Ultra” modes. The FusedTrack uses wrist movements and the compass to reconstruct the track between two GPS points, which is not possible whilst cycling.

So, in cycling, the Suunto 9 in Endurance mode takes a GPS reading every minute (1 reading per second on the Spartan). In “Ultra” mode, the Suunto 9’s GPS picks up every two minutes in comparison with one shot per minute on the Spartan. In the end, the bicycle tracking of the Suunto 9 is generally a little less precise than the Spartan’s.

You can zip between three GPS accuracy modes (and therefore the battery durability). In order: “Performance” for maximum quality, “Endurance” for extended life and “Ultra” for maximum autonomy. In “Endurance” mode the GPS reading is done every minute, in “Ultra”, every two minutes.

When we look at trail running and road running tracking, frankly, the accuracy is very good, we did not notice any distortions.

 

TRIATHLON, SWIM & SWIM-RUN

The Suunto 9 Baro, like Spartan, is also aimed at triathletes and swim-runners. The two exercises entitled “Swimming in the Pool” and “Swimming in Open Water” are therefore very popular programs. For the first one, the GPS is not active because you swim inside and the measurements are done via wrist movements. This explains why, unfortunately, all the training that includes kicking with a board in your hand (the one that isn’t wearing the watch for example!) are not counted in the session’s total. Contrary to open-water swimming, the GPS is active. It is recommended to synchronize with the Suunto App before your session, in order to capture the satellites as accurately as possible. In both cases, indoor and outdoor, the Suunto 9 Baro’s performances are good, all swim strokes are taken into account, we have access to Swolf, the pace…

 

 

Despite its weight you don’t notice the watch. When swimming in a wetsuit, depending on the equipment used, it is not easy to slide the watch under the neoprene, but generally, triathlon suit sleeves tend to be much shorter and stop above the wrist. Be careful during transitions, not to snag soft neoprene (and very thin in this area) with the buttons of the watch when you leave the wetsuit in a manner. These buttons don’t have that little “friction” that we noted on the Spartan, when you operated them. It’s now fluid.

Another detail, the watch strap. On the Spartan, the surplus strap was not blocked despite the two loops. After swimming a few lengths, it detached. This is no longer the case on the Suunto 9 Baro. The brand has designed a notched watch strap and the loops are anti-slip.

 

 

As you have seen, the wrist heart rate does not work when swimming. If you want to have access to this data, you have to pair the watch with a belt like the Suunto Smart Sensor or any Bluetooth model.

 

The Suunto brand whose Scandinavian headquarters is in Finland, is inevitably aware of the development of swim-run, yet the watch does not offer a dedicated program.

 

 

WRIST HR

The day when watches’ optical sensors (all brands) will be both reliable and accurate, we will have made a great leap forward. We thought we had got rid of cardio belts. For the time being, the measurements they give are only mere indications because they are too prone to variations. This is also the case in the Suunto 9 Baro. The announced figures are whimsical in the worst cases and in the best case, close to reality with a percentage of error (plus and minus) of 20%. For example the watch sensors don’t like: the hand vibrations on the bike, cold (limited blood flow), water (ineffective in swimming) body hair, certain skin colors do not help either to the collecting information via the LEDS. A green light is sent into the dermis where there is an influx of blood. The blood reflects this light captured by the optical sensor that will analyze it and determine the HR.

 

 

In use, the Suunto 9 Baro displays erratic data during the first moments out training. Then they stabilize and near those of a cardio belt (we did the test). If the watch gives global information, especially when it makes averages, on instantaneous measurements the data are not useful for a training. They just give you an idea.

 

 

TRAINING AND POI…

The Suunto 9 Baro is aimed at athletes whose training dimension is paramount. On the Spartan, you could plan your training. This feature disappeared on the Suunto 9 Baro if you use the Suunto application (Movescount can plan your workouts). For sessions defined or not by a coach (the relationship Suunto / Trainingpeaks is fluid), there is the obligatory split format. Pyramid intervals are not provided in the configuration. For other splits, they are set-up on the watch but not on the Suunto application (to be transferred to the watch).

 

The other thing lacking concerns the POIs (Points of Interest), important guidance information that you want to add or achieve. You cannot program a POI on the watch. For example, if outside and you want to enter a point and the head for it, you can’t. On the Spartan, you can enter a POI by hand directly on the watch.

When you want to trace a route and use it on the watch, you have to go through the Suunto application. The plot is in segments and you can’t enter comments on POIs. Too bad because in the mountains, on ultras, some points entered in advance can be valuable. The circus: go through Movescount (which will disappear in a year).

For the rest, the watch offers classic and effective services: GPS accuracy, trackback, altimeter (barometric and GPS), storm warning, sunrise and sunset, barometer, digital compass.

 

 

 

MOVESCOUNT VS SUUNTO APP ?

Suunto is currently using both Movescount and the (almost) new Suunto application. For people migrating from a Spartan for example to a Suunto 9 Baro, you must choose either one or the other. Movescount should be disappearing within a year, so, the choice is obvious. The two services are not linked, so we don’t find Movescount moves on the Suunto Application. If you want to recover them and read them on the application, you have to go to the Sportrackers website and create an account. You must then link the Movescount account to Sportracker. Twelve hours later, you have to install the Suunto App and log in to the Sportracker account: the Movescount history is now available.

 

 

 

For info: for users who have wiped off the bug that causes crashes on his smart phone if you load Movescount and Suunto app: it has been changed on the current update.

The Finnish brand has chosen to no longer use desktop (except to use Movescount soon  to disappear), since the application does not have a computer version, so everything goes through your phone.

If drawing a route is relatively easy on the application, it isn’t the same comfort as doing it on a larger screen. For the moment, and while waiting for the removal of Movescount, use the latter (or Openrunner for example) on your computer, record the gpx file, then transfer it on your smart phone via Airdrop for those who use the Apple IOS. You must then agree to open the file via the Suunto application. When will there be a reading and your moves programmed on a computer screen?

 

 

 

IMPORTANT DETAILS

We really appreciated the way that all watch synchronizations are done without any problems. The info is quickly passed from watch to smart phone and vice versa. All connections with third-party devices such as power sensors are also a kids game.

While we did note some weakness with the Spartan during vibrations, particularly moving, the Suunto 9 Baro corrected this hiccup. The vibrations you have directly on the wrist when receiving info are more powerful and do not go unnoticed. The ideal would be to be able to adjust the intensity yourself.

 

Lastly, it’s common for watches to be connected and receiving notifications from your smartphone is very practical, especially when you’re skiing: it avoids taking your gloves off, taking out your phone from your pocket or losing it on the chairlift! You just take a look at your wrist.

 

 

The Suunto 9 Baro is a solid watch with excellent battery management. This beautiful performance object offers interesting versatility for outdoor sports, whether you are trail runners, triathletes or cyclists. There are still a few things to improve in the “training” and “orientation” sections for it to be picture-perfect.

 

 

 

"The Suunto 9 Baro is a solid watch with excellent battery management. This beautiful performance object offers interesting versatility for outdoor sports, whether you are trail runners, triathletes or cyclists. There are still a few things to improve in the "

Rating

  • 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
  • ERGONOMICS
    8
  • GPS PRECISION
    9
  • HEART RATE
    6
  • INTERVAL TRAINING
    5
  • SYNCHRONISATION PC
    9
  • BATTERY AUTONOMY
    9
  • INSTRUCTION Booklet
    7

Price : 599

Weight

80

Overall Rating

7.57

LONG TERM TEST

We used this equipment over a long period of time
These are our thoughts after intensive use:

DO YOU HAVE QUESTIONS ABOUT THIS PRODUCT ?

Receive your answers by mail. Do you have a particular question concerning the design, use, durability or other about a tested product? We will answer your question personally.

CONTACT US

MrMs

* Fill all required fields.

Conformément à la loi Informatique et Libertés nº78-017 du 6 janvier 1978, vous disposez d’un droit d'accès, d'opposition et de rectification à toute communication des informations personnelles vous concernant en adressant un mail à : contact@test4outside.com

WRITE A REVIEW ON THIS PRODUCT

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    • VIA FERRATA
    • CANYONING
    • SKI
    • SNOWSHOES
    • TOURING SKIS
    • TRAIL RUNNING
    • MOUNTAINEERING
    • CLIMBING
    • MOUNTAIN BIKE
    • ROAD BIKE
    • TRIATHLON
    • TREKKING
UP

Montres
Produit 2019
Homme, Femme

SUUNTO9 Baro

Nous avions été déçus par la Suunto Spartan Ultra, sortie trop tôt ; un produit qui souffrait d’un développement non finalisé comportant de nombreux bugs. Nous avions d’ailleurs publié un essai sans concessions (http://www.test4outside.com/produit/suunto-spartan-ultra/). Depuis, pour être honnêtes, Suunto, au fil des mises à jour a largement corrigé le tir et la montre fonctionne sans problème. Nous attendions donc avec impatience le test du flagship outdoor Suunto, la S9 Baro.

 

 

Cette montre est indéniablement un très bel objet au design réussi, le mariage entre une pointe de classicisme et de sportivité. Toujours au chapitre des premières impressions, on retrouve le gabarit impressionnant d’une Suunto Spartan Ultra. Le poids constaté sur la balance est quasi identique : 80 grammes pour la S9 Baro et 77 grammes pour la Spartan Ultra (sans la ceinture cardio). A la fois esthétiquement et aussi quand on plonge dans les menus, on a la sensation d’avoir au poignet une déclinaison de Spartan. La différence se joue à l’intérieur, c’est ce que nous allons détailler au travers de ce test terrain.

 

 

DIFFÉRENTS NIVEAUX DE PERFORMANCE

Il est très délicat de tester ce genre de produit car, au delà de la complexité des menus et des multiples personnalisations, il faut considérer tout le spectre des publics visés par Suunto. L’expert ou le sportif régulier ne supportent pas la présence du décompte des pas, le nombre de calories journalières brûlées ou la fréquence cardiaque journalière… toutes ces données considérées comme des gadgets qui ne servent à aucune analyse de performance. D’un autre côté, certains publics, sans doute moins aguerris, partent du principe que ces indications doivent faire partie intégrante d’une montre qui coute quasiment 600 euros. Hors de questions que ces infos soient absentes alors que le moindre bracelet connecté les propose. C’est aussi dans l’air du temps puisqu’Apple avec sa Watch le propose. Il faut donc, pour juger la Suunto 9 Baro, faire la part des choses. Chaque sportif vient y trouver ce qu’il y cherche pour sa pratique sportive et son niveau.

 

 

 

ERGONOMIE FLUIDE

Suunto a fait des choix, en mixant des fonctions plutôt pointues avec des informations basiques. Les menus sont clairs, bien hiérarchisés et lorsque l’on a saisi la petite gymnastique à faire avec les trois boutons, l’écran tactile, il suffit de compléter ses aptitudes en découvrant que pour certaines infos, il suffit de tapoter l’écran une fois pour faire apparaitre une autre page. Dans cet esprit, nous avons, par exemple, un peu cherché l’indication du temps de récupération, suite à plusieurs entrainements successifs. Trois pressions sur le bouton du bas, et une tape sur l’écran et voilà que cette donnée apparaît. C’est simple… quand on le sait. La notice en ligne ou téléchargeable en pdf est en effet assez basique.

 

L’objet de ce test n’est pas de retranscrire les spécificités de la Suunto 9 Baro que l’on trouve sur le site de la marque, qui ont été largement reprises sur de multiples blogs. Ce qui nous intéresse c’est son efficacité sur le terrain, notamment en entrainement et pour des pratiques outdoor en général.

 

 

GESTION INTELLIGENTE DE LA BATTERIE

Le gros progrès concerne la gestion de la batterie et l’apparition de la puce GPS Sony vraiment économe en énergie par rapport à celle présente dans une Suunto Spartan. Il s’agit de la même batterie que celle de la Spartan Sport (plus petite que celle de la Spartan Ultra) et pourtant, grâce à cette nouvelle puce, la gestion de la consommation d’énergie a été grandement optimisée.

 

Sur le papier, Suunto annonce une autonomie de 25 heures en mode Performance et 120 heures en Ultra. On peut donc choisir sur chaque exercice un type de mode afin d’ajuster la finesse du GPS (et donc la durée de la batterie). Au cours de l’exercice, la montre indique si la charge de la batterie et averti si elle doit être chargée. En passant, l’icône de charge se trouve dès le deuxième écran, il suffit de cliquer une fois sur le bouton du milieu.

 

 

Malgré cette technologie embarquée, nous avons eu l’impression que la Suunto 9 Baro demandait à être chargée souvent, un peu trop souvent… En cherchant un peu, en se renseignant auprès de la marque, on nous a donné l’explication suivante : dès que la fréquence cardiaque journalière est activée, la consommation d’énergie augmente… diminuant l’autonomie, CQFD. Les LEDS utilisées pour la mesure de la FC sont énergivores. Donc, notre conseil : il faut zapper et désactiver cette fonction si l’on veut optimiser la durabilité de la montre. Autre avantage à cette manipulation, on coupe le faisceau de lumière verte qui émane de dessous la montre, un peu pénible en pleine nuit quand la montre est posée sur la table de chevet ou au cinéma quand une lueur verte se faufile au niveau du poignet…

Mais revenons aux performances de la batterie. Dans l’action, et notamment en longues distances, le gain est (très) appréciable. On est assuré d’enregistrer son exercice et/ou de pouvoir utiliser la montre en orientation.

 

PRÉCISION GPS

En matière de précision GPS, et donc d’exactitude de la trace (dont découle la distance mesurée), il faut nuancer selon les sports. En course à pied et trail, l’algorithme FusedTrack qui combine les données GPS et du capteur de mouvement, est automatiquement activé. Il donne des traces précises. En vélo, c’est différent, notamment par rapport à la Spartan qui est plus précise car elle fait plus de captations GPS. Pour être plus clair : la Suunto 9 exploite les données du FusedTrack uniquement en trail et course à pied en mode « Endurance » ou « Ultra ». Le FusedTrack utilise les mouvements du poignet et le compas pour reconstruire la trace entre deux points GPS, ce qui n’est pas possible en vélo.

Du coup, en cyclisme, la Suunto 9 en mode Endurance fait un relevé GPS chaque minute (1 relevé par seconde sur la Spartan). En mode « Ultra », le GPS de la Suunto 9 fait une captation toutes les deux minutes, pour une prise par minute sur la Spartan. Au final, la trace vélo de la Suunto 9 est globalement moins précise que celle de la Spartan…

On peut jouer sur trois modes de précision GPS (et donc de durabilité de la batterie). Dans l’ordre : « Performances » pour qualité maximale, « Endurance » pour une autonomie prolongée et « Ultra » pour une autonomie maximale. En mode « Endurance » le relevé GPS se fait toutes les minutes, en « Ultra », toutes les deux minutes.

Quand on se penche sur les traces trail et course à pied, franchement, la précision est très bonne, nous n’avons pas noté de distorsions.

 

TRIATHLON, NATATION & SWIMRUN

La Suunto 9 Baro, comme la Spartan s’adresse également à un public de triathlètes et de swimrunners. Les deux exercices intitulés « Natation en piscine » et « Natation en eau libre » sont donc des programmes très prisés. Pour le premier, le GPS n’est pas actif, car on nage en intérieur et les mesures se font via les mouvements de poignets. Ce qui explique que malheureusement, toutes les parties comprenant des battements de pieds avec planche, rattrapé une main (celle qui ne porte pas la montre par exemple !) ne soient pas comptabilisées dans le total de la séance. Inversement, quand on nage en eau libre, le GPS est actif. Il est recommandé de faire une synchronisation avec la Suunto App avant la séance, afin de capter les satellites le plus précisément possible. Dans les deux cas, en intérieur et extérieur, les performances de la Suunto 9 Baro sont bonnes, toutes les nages sont prises en compte, on a accès au Swolf, à l’allure…

 

 

La montre, malgré son poids conséquent, ne se fait pas sentir au poignet. Quand on nage en combinaison, suivant le matériel que l’on utilise, il n’est pas forcément aisé de glisser le gabarit de la Suunto 9 Baro sous le néoprène, mais en général, les manches de la combinaison de triathlon sont bien plus courtes et s’arrêtent au dessus du poignet. Attention au cours des transitions, de ne pas faire un accroc dans le néoprène souple (et très fin dans cette zone) avec les boutons de la montre quand on quitte la combinaison de manière précipitée. Ces boutons ne présentent plus cette petite « friction » notée sur la Spartan, lorsqu’on les actionnait : c’est désormais fluide.

Autre détail, le bracelet. Sur la Spartan, le surplus de bracelet ne restait pas bloqué malgré les deux passants. Après quelques longueurs, il se défaisait. Ce n’est plus le cas sur la Suunto 9 Baro. La marque a pris soin de cranter le bracelet et de munir les passants de picots antiglisse.

 

 

On l’a vu, la fréquence cardiaque au poignet ne marche pas en natation. Si l’on veut avoir accès à cette donnée, il faut appairer la montre à une ceinture comme la Suunto Smart Sensor ou n’importe quel modèle bluetooth.

 

La marque Suunto dont le siège scandinave est en Finlande, est immanquablement sensibilisée au développement du swimrun (pratique populaire), pourtant la montre ne propose pas de programme dédié.

 

 

FC AU POIGNET

Le jour où les capteurs optiques des montres (toutes marques confondues) seront à la fois fiables et précis, on aura fait un grand bond en avant. On croyait s’être débarrassés des ceintures cardio. Pour l’heure, les mesures qu’ils donnent ne sont que de simples indications car trop sujettes à variations. C’est également le cas de la Suunto 9 Baro. Les chiffres annoncés sont dans le pire des cas fantaisistes et dans le meilleur des cas, proches de la réalité avec un pourcentage d’erreur (en plus et moins) de 20 %. Les capteurs disposés sous la montre n’aiment pas, en effet : les vibrations de la main sur le vélo, le froid (afflux sanguin limité), l’eau (inefficace en natation). Les poils, certaines couleurs de peau n’aident pas non plus à la captation d’informations qui se fait par des LEDS. Une lumière verte est envoyée dans le derme où se trouve un afflux de sang. Le sang reflète cette lumière saisie par le capteur optique qui va l’analyser et déterminer la FC.

 

 

A l’usage, la Suunto 9 Baro affiche des données erratiques lors des premières minutes d’entrainement. Puis elles se stabilisent et s’approchent de celles d’une ceinture cardio (nous avons fait le test). Si la montre donne une information globale, notamment quand elle fait des moyennes, en mesure instantanées, les données sont peu exploitables pour un entrainement. Elles donnent simplement une tendance.

 

ENTRAINEMENT ET POI…

La Suunto 9 Baro s’adresse à des sportifs dont la dimension de l’entrainement est primordiale. Sur la Spartan, on pouvait planifier ses entrainements. Cette fonctionnalité a disparu sur la Suunto 9 Baro si on utilise l’application Suunto (par Movescount on peut planifier ses entrainements). Lors des séances définies ou non par un coach (la relation Suunto / Trainingpeaks est fluide), il y a le passage obligé constitué par le fractionné. Les intervalles en pyramide ne sont pas prévus dans la configuration. Pour les autres fractionnés, ils sont configurables sur la montre mais pas sur l’application Suunto (pour transfert ensuite sur la montre).

 

L’autre manque concerne les POI (Points d’intérêt), des informations importantes en matière d’orientation que l’on souhaite ajouter ou atteindre. On ne peut pas programmer un POI sur la montre. Par exemple, si sur le terrain, on souhaite entrer un point et l’atteindre, ce n’est pas possible. Sur la Spartan, on pouvait entrer un POI à la main directement sur la montre.

Quand on veut tracer un itinéraire et l’exploiter sur la montre, on doit passer par l’application Suunto. Le tracé se fait par segments et l’on ne peut pas entrer de commentaires sur les POI. Dommage, car en montagne, sur des ultras, quelques indications entrées au préalable peuvent être précieuses. La parade : passer par Movescount (qui va disparaître dans un an).

Pour le reste, la montre propose des prestations classiques et efficaces : précision GPS, trackback, altimètre (barométrique et GPS), alerte orage, lever et coucher soleil, baromètre, boussole numérique…

 

 

 

MOVESCOUNT VS SUUNTO APP ?

Actuellement Suunto fait cohabiter Movescount et la (presque) nouvelle application Suunto. Pour des personnes migrant d’une Spartan par exemple à une Suunto 9 Baro, il faut choisir soit l’une, soit l’autre. Movescount devrait disparaître d’ici un an, le choix est vite fait. Les deux services ne sont pas liés, on ne retrouve donc pas ses moves Movescount sur l’Application Suunto. Si on veut les récupérer et les lire sur l’application, il faut se rendre sur le site Sportrackers, créer un compte. Il faut ensuite lier le compte Movescount à Sportracker. Douze heures plus tard, il faut installer la Suunto App et se logger sur le compte Sportracker : l’historique Movescount est alors présent et accessible.

 

 

A savoir, pour les utilisateurs qui ont essuyé le bug qui provoque des plantages sur son smart phone si on a chargé Movescount et Suunto app : celui-ci vient d’être modifié sur l’actuelle mise à jour.

La marque finlandaise a choisi de ne plus être présente sur desktop (sauf à utiliser Movescount voué à disparaître), puisque l’application n’a pas de version ordinateur, tout passe donc par son téléphone.

Si tracer un itinéraire est relativement aisé sur l’application, on ne bénéficie tout de même pas du confort d’un grand écran. La parade consiste, pour le moment, et en attendant la suppression de Movescount, d’utiliser ce dernier (ou Openrunner par exemple) sur son ordinateur, d’enregistrer le ficher gpx, puis de le transférer sur son smart phone via Airdrop pour ceux qui utilisent l’IOS Apple. Il faut ensuite accepter d’ouvrir le fichier via l’application Suunto. A quand une lecture, une programmation de ses moves sur écran d’ordinateur ?

 

 

 

DÉTAILS IMPORTANTS

Nous avons très apprécié le fait que toutes les synchronisations de la montre se fassent sans aucun souci. Les infos passent rapidement de la montre au smart phone et inversement. Toutes les connections avec des appareils tiers comme des capteurs de puissance sont également d’une simplicité enfantine.

Alors que nous avions noté une certaine faiblesse des vibrations de la Spartan, notamment quand on est en action, la Suunto 9 Baro a corrigé le tir. Les vibrations au poignet qui annoncent des informations sont, plus puissantes et ne passent plus inaperçues. L’idéal serait de pouvoir régler soi-même l’intensité.

 

Enfin, c’est désormais classique sur les montres connectées, mais le fait de recevoir des notifications de son smartphone est très pratique, notamment lorsque l’on skie : on évite de quitter son gant, de sortir son téléphone de la poche voire de le faire tomber du télésiège ! Il suffit de jeter un œil à son poignet.

 

 

La Suunto 9 Baro est une montre solide, dotée d’une excellente gestion de batterie. Ce bel objet performant offre une polyvalence intéressante aux sportifs outdoor, qu’ils soient trailers, triathlètes, cyclistes. Il reste quelques points à améliorer au chapitre « entrainement » et « orientation » pour que le tableau soit parfait.

 

 

 

"La Suunto 9 Baro est une montre solide, dotée d’une excellente gestion de batterie. Ce bel objet performant offre une polyvalence intéressante aux sportifs outdoor, qu’ils soient trailers, triathlètes, cyclistes. Il reste quelques points à améliorer au chapitre « entrainement » et « orientation » pour que le tableau soit parfait."

Notes

  • 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
  • ERGONOMIE
    8
  • PRÉCISION GPS
    9
  • FRÉQUENCE cardiaque
    6
  • INTERVAL TRAINING
    5
  • SYNCHRONISATION PC
    9
  • AUTONOMIE batterie
    9
  • MODE D’EMPLOI
    7

Prix : 599

Poids

80

Note globale

7.57

TEST LONGUE DUREE

juin 2019

Nous avons utilisé cet équipement sur une longue période de temps
Voici ce que nous pensons après une utilisation intensive :

AVEZ-VOUS DES QUESTIONS SUR CE PRODUIT ?

Recevez vos réponses par email. Avez-vous une question particulière concernant la conception, l'utilisation, la durabilité ou autre sur un produit testé? Nous répondrons à votre question personnellement.

DONNEZ VOTRE AVIS SUR CE PRODUIT

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

    • TREKKING
    • VIA FERRATA
    • CANYONING
    • SKI
    • RAQUETTES
    • SKI RANDONNÉE
    • TRAIL RUNNING
    • ALPINISME
    • ESCALADE
    • VTT
    • VÉLO ROUTE
    • TRIATHLON
UP