Headlamps
Product 2020
Femme, Homme, Enfant

Petzl IKO Core

FIRST

Petzl presents a new headlamp that can be described as disruptive in its design and functions. The list of great ideas is long and its use in the field, whether in mountaineering, trail running or trekking is remarkable.

This Petzl Iko Core design is instantly intriguing. When you first use it, it is not quite clear how to put it on and many of the testers put it on upside down. All you have to do is respect the horizontal reading direction of the Petzl logos and memorize the position of the on/off lighting button, which is located underneath the light.

Petzl’s stroke of genius is replacing the traditional elastic headband (subject to deformation, aging, humidity) with a band made from hydrophobic, semi-rigid and shape memory material. The battery connection is inside, and is completely hidden, and protected. An elasticated adjustment system is on the battery pack, so you can adjust the headband when it’s on your head, hat or Petzl helmet (other brands don’t have the two support ends).

This is a rear battery pack whose balance is remarkable. You don’t feel the weight of the battery or the inertia of the lamp on your forehead. The whole thing weighs 79g with the rechargeable battery and 90g with three AAA batteries. This is also one of the big advantages of this lamp, you can use standard batteries. The battery can be recharged quickly using a micro USB socket. The charge indicator is on the battery.

Let’s continue with the list of the many positive points. Beyond its original design, it’s very controlled light weight, the Petzl Iko Core has the on/off button located underneath the led lights. At last! Because the natural hand action is always to look to turning on a headlamp with your thumb underneath; it is more ergonomic, and we use more force. With other headlamps, it’s the opposite: you press with your less powerful index finger, and you are always searching for the button.

Operating the Petzl Iko Core is very simple: two beams and three light levels. Each time you press the button, you switch from one to the other. You lock everything by pressing the button for three seconds.

We particularly liked the well-diffused, very white light. You can of course, vertically orient the seven LEDs pad. This pad is surprising because it is very thin but has maximum efficiency. The Petzl Iko Core has 500 lumens and a range of 80 meters. At medium power, you get nine hours of battery life compared to two and a half hours at maximum power. Trail runners who like to run long hours at maximum power will opt for another model. For others, running with the Petzl Iko Core is a real pleasure (combo balance/light weight).

The Petzl Iko Core unsurprisingly adopts the IPX4 standard, it is not sensitive to knocks and humidity. We used it caving, and it held up. But like any lamp like this, we do not recommend immersion. The semi-rigid battery compartment closing cover is also one of the four downsides concerning this lamp: its appearance is a bit cheap and its adjustment could be more precise (in order to be absolutely certain that the lamp is waterproof) . The other point concerns the semi-rigid headband which, if you tighten the adjustment elastics a little too much, very quickly feels uncomfortable. The third point concerns the relative size of the lamp, which rolls into a ball to be stuffed into the upper pocket of a bag: even if the band is semi-rigid (or semi-flexible), it ultimately takes up a little more space than a traditional elastic band. Finally, and is just a detail, the white material tends to turn yellow quite quickly.

The Petzl Iko Core is a very smart lamp because it can be worn around your neck while maintaining good stability (the semi-rigid rear structure plays its role well) and above all an effective lighting capacity: the LED pad can be oriented. Note, at full power the LEDs heat up, you can feel it even more when you wear the headlamp around your neck. The real surprise is when you place the headlamp like a desk lamp! Here we say bravo to the designers! It’s super practical in a bivouac, or when traveling in shabby hotels. All you have to do is tighten the adjustment elastic and position the headlamp vertically: it stands upright on its frame – like a cobra! But that’s not all, if you place the Petzl Iko Core storage bag on the LEDs, i.e. a translucent envelope, you have a lantern: top class for a bivouac.

Last but not least, we very much liked the cardboard packaging in order to reduce its environmental impact.

The Petzl Iko Core combines quality and great ideas. In addition to being light and ergonomic, it offers quality lighting for all outdoor activities. Its astonishing design combines clean lines with unusual features: the headlamp transforms into a bedside lamp and lantern for bivouacing. It fully deserves the Test4outside.com FIRST award.

Discover all the other Petzl products tested here.

"The Petzl Iko Core combines quality and great ideas. In addition to being light and ergonomic, it offers quality lighting for all outdoor activities. Its astonishing design combines clean lines with unusual features: the headlamp transforms into a bedside lamp and lantern for bivouacing. It fully deserves the Test4outside.com FIRST award."

Rating

  • 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
  • ON/OFF Ergonomics
    10
  • HEAD HOLD
    9
  • COMFORT
    8
  • AUTONOMY
    8
  • POWER
    8

Price : 79

Weight

80

Overall Rating

8.60

LONG TERM TEST

We used this equipment over a long period of time
These are our thoughts after intensive use:

DO YOU HAVE QUESTIONS ABOUT THIS PRODUCT ?

Receive your answers by mail. Do you have a particular question concerning the design, use, durability or other about a tested product? We will answer your question personally.

CONTACT US

MrMs

* Fill all required fields.

Conformément à la loi Informatique et Libertés nº78-017 du 6 janvier 1978, vous disposez d’un droit d'accès, d'opposition et de rectification à toute communication des informations personnelles vous concernant en adressant un mail à : contact@test4outside.com

WRITE A REVIEW ON THIS PRODUCT

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    • VIA FERRATA
    • CANYONING
    • SKI
    • SNOWSHOES
    • TOURING SKIS
    • TRAIL RUNNING
    • MOUNTAINEERING
    • CLIMBING
    • MOUNTAIN BIKE
    • ROAD BIKE
    • TRIATHLON
    • TREKKING
UP

Frontales
Produit 2020
Homme, Femme, Enfant

Petzl IKO Core

FIRST

Petzl présente une nouvelle lampe frontale que l’on peut qualifier de disruptive dans son design et ses fonctionnalités. La liste des bonnes idées est longue et son emploi sur le terrain, que ce soit en alpinisme, trail running ou trekking est remarquable.

 

Cette Petzl Iko Core intrigue d’emblée par son design. La première fois, on ne sait d’ailleurs pas trop comment la passer sur la tête et nombre d’utilisateurs la mettent à l’envers. Il suffit de respecter le sens de lecture horizontale des logo Petzl et de mémoriser la position du bouton d’éclairage on/off qui se trouve dessous le pad avant.

 

Le coup de génie de Petzl est d’avoir remplacé le traditionnel bandeau élastique (sujet aux déformations, vieillissements, humidité) par un bandeau en matière hydrophobe, semi rigide et à mémoire de forme. Il assure maintien et inclus la connectique en son sein, totalement cachée. Un système élastique dont le réglage se trouve sur le boitier de la batterie permet d’ajuster la frontale directement sur la tête, un bonnet ou un casque Petzl (les autres marques sont moins bien loties car elles ne disposent pas des deux embouts de maintien).

 

Il s’agit donc d’une frontale à batterie déportée dont l’équilibre est remarquable. On ne sent pas le poids de la batterie ni, surtout, l’inertie de la lampe au-dessus du front. Le tout pèse 80 grammes avec l’accu et 90 grammes avec trois piles. C’est aussi l’un des gros avantages de cette lampe faite pour barouder, on peut l’utiliser aussi avec des piles. L’accu se recharge rapidement via une prise micro USB. L’indicateur de charge est directement sur l’accu.

 

Continuons avec la liste des nombreux points positifs. Au-delà de sa conception originale, de son poids light très maitrisé, la Petzl Iko Core possède un bouton on/off disposé dessous le pad de leds. Enfin, pourrait-on s’exclamer ! Car l’action de la main qui veut allumer la frontale positionne naturellement et logiquement le pouce sous le pad : c’est plus ergonomique, on fait plus de force. Avec les autres frontales, c’est l’inverse : on appuie avec l’index moins puissant.

 

Le fonctionnement de la Petzl Iko Core est ultra simple : deux faisceaux et trois niveaux d’éclairage. A chaque pression sur le bouton, on passe de l’un à l’autre. On lock le tout en appuyant trois secondes.

 

On a particulièrement apprécié l’éclairage bien diffusé, très blanc. On peut bien entendu, orienter verticalement le pad de sept leds. Ce pad est étonnant car il possède une grande finesse mais une efficacité maximale. La Petzl Iko Core affiche 500 lumens et une portée de 80 mètres. A puissance moyenne, on obtient neuf heures d’autonomie contre deux heures trente à puissance maximale. Les trailers qui aiment bien courir de longues heures à puissance max opteront pour un autre modèle. Pour les autres, courir avec la Petzl Iko Core est un vrai bonheur (combo équilibration/poids light).

 

La Petzl Iko Core adopte sans surprise la norme IPX4, elle n’est pas sensible aux projections et à l’humidité. Nous l’avons utilisée en spéléologie, elle a tenu le coup. Mais comme toute lampe de ce type, on ne recommande pas l’immersion. Le couvercle semi rigide de fermeture du compartiment batterie est d’ailleurs l’un des quatre bémols concernant cette lampe : son aspect est un peu cheap et son ajustement pourrait être plus précis (afin d’être absolument certain que la lampe va être étanche). L’autre point concerne le bandeau semi rigide qui, si on tend un peu trop les élastiques de réglage, devient rapidement inconfortable. Le troisième point concerne le relatif encombrement de la lampe qui se met en boule pour être fourrée dans la poche supérieure d’un sac : même si le bandeau est semi rigide (ou semi-souple), il tient, au final, un peu plus de place qu’un traditionnel bandeau élastique. Enfin, et ceci relève également du détail, le matériau blanc a tendance à jaunir assez rapidement.

 

La Petzl Iko Core est une très lampe futée car elle peut se porter autour du cou tout en gardant une bonne stabilité (la structure arrière semi-rigide joue bien son rôle) et surtout une capacité d’éclairage efficace : le pad peut être orienté. A noter, à pleine puissance les leds chauffent, on le sent encore plus quand on porte la frontale autour du cou. Le vrai coup de bluff concerne le moment où l’on dispose la frontale à la façon d’une lampe de bureau ! Là, on dit bravo aux concepteurs ! C’est ultra pratique au bivouac, en voyage dans les hôtels miteux. Il suffit de tendre l’élastique de réglage et de positionner la frontale verticalement : elle tient droite sur son armature (à la façon d’un cobra) ! Mais ce n’est pas fini, si on place le sac de rangement de la Petzl Iko Core sur les leds, soit une enveloppe translucide, on obtient une lanterne : le top pour le bivouac.

 

Last but not least, on a apprécié le packaging en carton afin de diminuer l’impact environnemental.

 

La Petzl Iko Core cumule les qualités et les bonnes idées. En plus d’être légère, ergonomique, elle offre un éclairage de qualité pour toutes les activités outdoor. Son design étonnant conjugue des lignes épurées avec des fonctionnalités inhabituelles : la frontale se transforme en lampe de chevet et lanterne pour le bivouac. Elle mérite amplement l’award FIRST Test4outside.com.

 

 

Découvrez tous les autres produits Petzl testés ici.

"La Petzl Iko Core cumule les qualités et les bonnes idées. En plus d’être légère, ergonomique, elle offre un éclairage de qualité pour toutes les activités outdoor. Son design étonnant conjugue des lignes épurées avec des fonctionnalités étonnantes : la frontale se transforme en lampe de chevet et lanterne pour le bivouac. Elle mérite amplement l’award FIRST Test4outside.com.  "

Notes

  • 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
  • Ergonomie ON/OFF
    10
  • MAINTIEN
    9
  • CONFORT
    8
  • AUTONOMIE
    8
  • PUISSANCE
    8

Prix : 79

Poids

80

Note globale

8.60

TEST LONGUE DUREE

Nous avons utilisé cet équipement sur une longue période de temps
Voici ce que nous pensons après une utilisation intensive :

AVEZ-VOUS DES QUESTIONS SUR CE PRODUIT ?

Recevez vos réponses par email. Avez-vous une question particulière concernant la conception, l'utilisation, la durabilité ou autre sur un produit testé? Nous répondrons à votre question personnellement.

DONNEZ VOTRE AVIS SUR CE PRODUIT

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

    • TREKKING
    • VIA FERRATA
    • CANYONING
    • SKI
    • RAQUETTES
    • SKI RANDONNÉE
    • TRAIL RUNNING
    • ALPINISME
    • ESCALADE
    • VTT
    • VÉLO ROUTE
    • TRIATHLON
UP