Watches
Product 2020
Woman, Man

Suunto 3 Fitness

Suunto’s range is now fairly well covered with, starting from the top of the pyramid, the Suunto 9, the 7 (a curiosity Wear OS by Google), 5. Talking prices, the top of the range is 549 euros (Suunto 9 Baro) and 229 euros for the Suunto 3 Fitness, which aligns with market prices. Even if the initial marketing positions are not equal between a Garmin Swim 2 and the Suunto 3, it is clear that for practically the same price, the latter offers greater versatility by being useful in many different sports activities.

 

 

FEATHER LIGHTNESS!

With the Suunto 3 Fitness, all the usual Suunto ergonomics and handling are the same, so no surprises for those who are familiar with these interfaces. For newcomers, it requires a (little bit) of adaptation.

 

Let’s begin with our overall impressions after our many months of testing. Firstly the Suunto 3 Fitness is a watch that you don’t realize you are wearing. Space-saving (reduced diameter compared to an S9), it weighs 36 grams in comparison with 66 for the Suunto 5. So especially when you are running or swimming you can forget about this model 3. Thanks to its intermediate size, it is suitable for all wrists, big or small. The watch strap is really comfortable, very flexible and soft to the touch although it does looks a bit “cheap”. It does not cause any pressure points on the wrist like the Garmin Swim 2 does.

 

The Suunto 3 Fitness doesn’t have a touch screen (is it really essential?), So its designers have kitted it out with five buttons. Two on the left, three on the right, one which is less “sensitive” that gives access to the “Exercise”, “Journal”, “Stopwatch” and “Settings” menus. This navigation with several buttons can seem complex, but it isn’t, after a few excursions you get used to it and you quickly have good reflexes to navigate without too many errors.

 

 

NO INTEGRATED GPS

Before leaving the house, here is some essential information to know about the Suunto 3 Fitness: it does not have a GPS chip. The tracking is done via your smartphone which suddenly becomes an obligatory companion for any outdoor excursion, which means other important necessities: a fully charged battery, and the extra weight and bulk of your phone (that said nowadays who doesn’t leave home without their phone?). The Suunto 5 has 30-hour autonomy is therefore a little misleading because you must add the watch + the smartphone. The smartphone’s GPS is used.

 

 

VERY PERFORMANT FOR SWIMMING!

We’ve barely highlighted on the top quality of the Suunto Fitness 3 (like the Suunto 5). After swimming sessions where we compared the Suunto 3 to the Suunto 9 Baro, we had more accurate readings with the S3 than with the top-of-the-range 9! We persisted, redid the tests, and almost always we had the same good results that favored the little Suunto 3 Fitness! Is its motion sensor better or is the software more elaborate? To solve the mystery, we asked Suunto, who confirmed that there were differences in programming that gave these astonishing results: the S3 and S5 are more performant when it comes to detecting movements:  swimming, running without a GPS.

 

 

Another rather surprising noteworthy aspect of the Suunto 3 Fitness is its relative accuracy in measuring heartrate. We use the word “relative” on purpose, because wrist measurement via LEDs is a technology that is still a long way off replacing capture via a cardio belt. But Suunto 3 Fitness gives an acceptable trend in this area. For those highly specific trainers, it is absolutely necessary to couple the watch with a FC belt in order to obtain precise heartrate readings.

 

 

AUTONOMY… WITH THE SMARTPHONE

The battery is recharged using the familiar Suunto Ambit type recharger. The watch once recharged has a largely sufficient autonomy to hold three to four days doing one sports session per day, a figure of course that is variable depending on the length of your sessions, the notifications received, etc. By the way, one regret with this “Fitness” targeted watch: there’s no way of managing music. There is, in fact, no player allowing you to read an Mp4 or a smartphone. Another point to improve would be the screen’s brightness, which would benefit from being brighter. However, the screen size was considered sufficient for this type of watch (the Suunto 5 is barely better).

 

 

What is a Suunto Fitness 3 worth for an athlete who wants to train? First of all, be careful not to rub it up against rough surfaces too much, the Polyamide glass gets scratched and it is annoying to damage such a beautiful watch! Then, you find the Suunto range of training programs with interval management (except pyramid), pairing with different sensors (of strength, HR, etc.), automatic lap calculation, etc.

 

 

TRAINING PROGRAMME

The watch provides a personalized training program that encourages exercise and can be a source of motivation for some. It is not a substitute for precision and listening to a real coach who will be able to manage injuries and achieve specific goals in the best possible way.

 

 

In the running mode, there is no “breadcrumb” function, which is very useful for retracing your steps in the forest, for example. No battery mode management either, which is understandable, because top sports people should get away with 30 hours battery life (with smartphone).

 

 

We liked the stress level indicator and, as always with Suunto, the recovery time, which is the accumulation at the end of each session: this gives a precious indication of your fatigue state.
By pressing the central button for several seconds, you access the shortcuts and in particular the stopwatch.

Synchronization with the Suunto App was carried out without any problems for months before blocking completely. Unable to load our exercises in order to view them on our smartphone. We had to uninstall the App to reinstall it.

 

Our last remark, for a watch that integrates sleep monitoring (quite a nice function), you rapidly notice the cardio diodes flashing in the night on your bedside table! Some, those who fall asleep quickly, it’s not a problem.

 

 

For others, yes! So, just go to “Settings”, then “Activity” and un-click “Daily HR”. It’s strange that there is no possibility of programming the HR only during the day. Something to think about for the next updates?

 

The Suunto 3 Fitness is a mid-priced watch that is not necessarily intended for outdoor addicts who need an on-board GPS (for an additional 100 euros, this is included in the Suunto 5). For athletes jogging and just wanting to train or keep fit without pushing the limits too much, the S3 is a good compromise between technicality, lightness and usability.

 

 

"The Suunto 3 Fitness is a mid-priced watch that is not necessarily intended for outdoor addicts who need an on-board GPS (for an additional 100 euros, this is included in the Suunto 5). For athletes jogging and just wanting to train or keep fit without pushing the limits too much, the S3 is a good compromise between technicality, lightness and usability."

Rating

  • 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
  • ERGONOMICS
    8
  • HEART RATE MONITOR
    6
  • INTERVAL TRAINING
    8
  • SYNCHRO PC/PHONE
    7
  • BATTERY AUTONOMY
    6
  • INSTRUCTION Booklet
    7
  • WATCH Strap Comfort
    8

Price : 229

Weight

36

Overall Rating

7.14

LONG TERM TEST

We used this equipment over a long period of time
These are our thoughts after intensive use:

DO YOU HAVE QUESTIONS ABOUT THIS PRODUCT ?

Receive your answers by mail. Do you have a particular question concerning the design, use, durability or other about a tested product? We will answer your question personally.

CONTACT US

MrMs

* Fill all required fields.

Conformément à la loi Informatique et Libertés nº78-017 du 6 janvier 1978, vous disposez d’un droit d'accès, d'opposition et de rectification à toute communication des informations personnelles vous concernant en adressant un mail à : contact@test4outside.com

WRITE A REVIEW ON THIS PRODUCT

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    • VIA FERRATA
    • CANYONING
    • SKI
    • SNOWSHOES
    • TOURING SKIS
    • TRAIL RUNNING
    • MOUNTAINEERING
    • CLIMBING
    • MOUNTAIN BIKE
    • ROAD BIKE
    • TRIATHLON
    • TREKKING
UP

Montres
Produit 2020
Homme, Femme

Suunto 3 Fitness

L’offre de Suunto est désormais assez bien étagée avec, en partant du haut de la pyramide : la Suunto 9 Baro, la 7 (une curiosité Wear OS by Google), la 5. Question budget, le haut de gamme est affiché à 549 euros (Suunto 9 Baro) et 229 euros pour la Suunto 3 Fitness, ce qui est conforme aux prix du marché. Même si les positionnements marketing initiaux ne sont pas les mêmes entre une Garmin Swim 2 et la Suunto 3, force est de constater que pour quasiment le même prix, cette dernière offre une plus grande polyvalence en étant efficace dans nombre d’activités sportives.

 

 

LÉGÈRETÉ !

Avec la Suunto 3 Fitness, on retrouve l’environnement et l’ergonomie Suunto, donc pas de surprise pour les habitués de ces interfaces. Pour les autres, ça demande forcément un (léger) temps d’adaptation.

 

Commençons par nos impressions générales suite aux nombreux mois de test. La Suunto 3 Fitnesse est d’abord une montre que l’on ne sent pas au poignet. Peu encombrante (diamètre réduit par rapport à une S9), elle affiche un poids de 36 grammes sur la balance contre 66 pour une Suunto 5. Le modèle 3 se fait donc spécialement oublier en natation et course à pied où les bras sont sollicités. Grâce à son gabarit intermédiaire, elle convient aux deux sexes. Le bracelet est super confortable, très souple et doux au toucher mais il fait un peu « cheap ». Il ne provoque pas, en tout cas, de point de pression sur le poignet comme celui de la Garmin Swim 2.

 

La Suunto 3 Fitness ne possède pas d’écran tactile (est-ce franchement indispensable ?), ses concepteurs l’ont donc doté de cinq boutons. Deux à gauche, trois à droite dont un moins « sensible » qui donne accès aux menus « Exercice », « journal », « Chronomètre » et « Paramètres ». Cette navigation à plusieurs boutons peut paraitre complexe, ce n’est pas le cas, au bout de quelques sorties, on prend le pli et les bons réflexes permettent une navigation sans trop d’erreurs.

 

 

PAS DE PUCE GPS

Avant de partir sur le terrain, voici une information capitale à connaitre sur la Suunto 3 Fitness : elle ne possède pas de puce GPS. Le repérage se fait via son smart phone qui devient, du coup, un compagnon obligé de toute sortie outdoor, avec ce que cela comporte comme obligation : nécessité de batterie chargée, poids et encombrement du téléphone… L’autonomie de 30 heures annoncée pour la Suunto 5 est donc trompeuse car il faut additionner la montre + le smart phone. La puce GPS du smart-phone est utilisée.

 

 

TRÈS EFFICACE EN NATATION !

Une grande qualité de la Suunto Fitness 3 (commune également à la Suunto 5) a été peu mise en avant. A l’issue de sessions natation où nous comparions la Suunto 3 à la Suunto 9 Baro, nous avions des relevés plus fidèles avec la S3 qu’avec la 9, le haut de gamme ! Nous avons persisté, refait les essais… Quasiment toujours les mêmes bons résultats en faveur de la petite Suunto 3 Fitness ! Son capteur de mouvement serait-il meilleur ou le soft plus élaboré ? Pour lever le mystère, nous avons interrogé Suunto, qui en off, nous a confirmé qu’il existait des différences au niveau programmation avec pour résultat étonnant : les S3 et S5 sont plus performantes quand il s’agit de détecter les mouvements : pas, natation, course à pied sans GPS.

 

 

Autre prestation plutôt étonnante de la Suunto 3 Fitness, c’est sa relative précision en matière de mesure de la fréquence cardiaque. Nous employons le mot « relative » à dessein, car la mesure au poignet via les leds est une technologie encore loin de remplacer la captation par une ceinture cardio. Mais la Suunto 3 Fitness, donne, en la matière, une tendance acceptable. Pour les adeptes de l’entrainement acharné, il faut absolument coupler la montre à une ceinture FC afin d’obtenir de la précision.

 

 

AUTONOMIE… AVEC SMART PHONE

La batterie se recharge à l’aide de la prise (pince) que les utilisateurs de la Suunto Ambit connaissent bien. La montre, une fois rechargée, possède une autonomie largement suffisante pour tenir trois à quatre jours en faisant une séance de sport par jour, un chiffre bien entendu variable selon la longueur des séances, les notifications reçues etc… Au passage, un regret au sujet de cette montre ciblée « Fitness » : l’absence de gestion de la musique. Il n’y a pas, en effet, de lecteur permettant la lecture d’un Mp4 ou d’un smart phone… Autre point à améliorer, la luminosité de l’écran qui gagnerait à être plus importante. Par contre, la taille de l’écran a été jugée suffisante pour ce type de montre (la Suunto 5 fait guère mieux).

 

 

Que vaut la Suunto Fitness 3 au poignet d’un sportif qui veut s’entrainer ? Tout d’abord, attention à ne pas trop la frotter contre des surfaces agressives, le verre en Polyamide se raye… et ça énerve d‘abimer une belle montre ! Ensuite, on retrouve les programmes d’entrainement de la galaxie Suunto avec la gestion des intervalles (sauf ceux en pyramide), l’appairage avec différents capteurs (de force, de FC…), le calcul des tours automatique etc…

 

 

PROGRAMME D’ENTRAINEMENT

La montre propose un programme personnalisé d’entrainement qui incite à faire de l’exercice et qui peut être source de motivation pour certains. Il ne remplace pas la précision et l’écoute d’un vrai coach qui saura gérer au mieux les blessures et l’atteinte d’objectifs précis.

 

 

Dans l’exercice course à pied, on ne dispose pas de la fonction « petit poucet », très pratique pour revenir sur ses pas en forêt, par exemple. Pas de gestion du mode de batterie non plus, ce qui s’explique, car la cible de sportifs visés devrait s’en sortir avec 30 heures annoncées d’autonomie batterie (avec smart phone).

 

 

Nous avons aimé l’indication du niveau de stress et comme toujours chez Suunto, le temps de récupération, soit le cumul à l’issue de chaque séance : ça donne une indication précieuse de l’état de fatigue.

En appuyant plusieurs secondes sur le bouton central, on accède aux raccourcis et notamment le chronomètre.

 

La synchronisation avec l’App Suunto s’est réalisée sans aucun problème pendant des mois avant de bloquer complètement. Impossible de charger ses exercices afin de les visionner sur son smart phone. Il a fallu désinstaller l’App pour la réinstaller.

 

Dernière remarque, pour une montre qui intègre un suivi du sommeil (fonction plutôt sympathique au demeurant), on note rapidement les diodes du cardio qui clignotent dans la nuit, sur la table de chevet ! Certains, ceux qui s’endorment rapidement, supportent. Les autres, non ! La parade ?

 

 

Il suffit d’aller dans « Paramètres », puis « Activité » et de décocher « FC journalière ». Curieux qu’il n’y ait pas possibilité de programmer la FC uniquement la journée… Une piste pour les prochaines mises à jour ?

 

La Suunto 3 Fitness est une montre au prix moyen qui ne se destine pas forcément aux outdoor addicts qui ont besoin d’une puce GPS embarquée (pour 100 euros de plus, celle-ci est incluse dans la Suunto 5). Pour les sportifs faisant un jogging et désirant s’entrainer ou se maintenir en forme sans trop pousser les limites, la S3 est un bon compromis entre technicité, légèreté et facilité d’utilisation.

 

 

"La Suunto 3 Fitness est une montre au prix moyen qui ne se destine pas forcément aux outdoor addicts qui ont besoin d’une puce GPS embarquée (pour 100 euros de plus, celle-ci est incluse dans la Suunto 5). Pour les sportifs faisant un jogging et désirant s’entrainer ou se maintenir en forme sans trop pousser les limites, la S3 est un bon compromis entre technicité, légèreté et facilité d’utilisation."

Notes

  • 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
  • ERGONOMIE
    8
  • FRÉQUENCE CARDIAQUE
    6
  • INTERVAL TRAINING
    8
  • SYNCHRO PC/PHONE
    7
  • AUTONOMIE BATTERIE
    6
  • Clarté MODE EMPLOI
    7
  • CONFORT BRACELET
    8

Prix : 229

Poids

36

Note globale

7.14

TEST LONGUE DUREE

avril 2020

Nous avons utilisé cet équipement sur une longue période de temps
Voici ce que nous pensons après une utilisation intensive :

AVEZ-VOUS DES QUESTIONS SUR CE PRODUIT ?

Recevez vos réponses par email. Avez-vous une question particulière concernant la conception, l'utilisation, la durabilité ou autre sur un produit testé? Nous répondrons à votre question personnellement.

DONNEZ VOTRE AVIS SUR CE PRODUIT

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

    • TREKKING
    • VIA FERRATA
    • CANYONING
    • SKI
    • RAQUETTES
    • SKI RANDONNÉE
    • TRAIL RUNNING
    • ALPINISME
    • ESCALADE
    • VTT
    • VÉLO ROUTE
    • TRIATHLON
UP